السرطان

davide

الدكتور ديفيد بيدوجنيتي، هو مدير برنامج السرطان في سدرة للطب، حصل على درجتي الماجستير والدكتوراه في علم الأورام السريري والتجريبي وأمراض الدم من جامعة جنوة، إيطاليا. بعد حصوله على شهادة البورد في طب الأورام من جامعة جنوة والمعهد الوطني الإيطالي للسرطان (IST)، انضم إلى قسم الأمراض المعدية وعلم المناعة (IDIS) في المعاهد الوطنية الأميركية للصحة (NIH) حيث أكمل زمالته الطبية. شغل منصب مدير مركز التميز لجمعيات المناعة السريرية (FOCIS) في المركز الطبي NIH. الدكتور بيدوجنيتي عضو في جمعية العلاج المناعي للسرطان (SITC) وفريق عمل الاستجابة المناعية للسرطان، واللجنة التوجيهية لمراكز FOCIS للتميز.

السرطان هو المرض الرئيسي المسبب للوفاة لدى الأطفال والمراهقين، وثاني سبب رئيسي للوفاة بين البالغين على مستوى العالم. يتم إعاقة تنفيذ الاستراتيجيات العلاجية الشخصية بسبب المعرفة غير المكتملة بالآليات الجزيئية التي تقود أنواعاً غير متجانسة من السرطان لدى أفراد مختلفين. يُحدث العلاج المناعي للسرطان ثورة في طريقة علاج المرضى ولكن أقلية فقط من المرضى يستجيبون لمثل هذا العلاج.

يهدف قسم أبحاث السرطان إلى وصف كل مريض وورمه بأعمق مستوى من التعقيد لتحديد التعديلات ذات الصلة بالتسلسل الهرمي والتي يمكن استهدافها من خلال مناهج محددة.
من الناحية النظرية، يمكن تجزئة القسم إلى مسارين متوازيين، لكنهما يكملان بعضهما هما الاكتشاف والتطبيق السريري:

مسار الاكتشاف:

يهدف القسم إلى معالجة الأسئلة الرئيسية المتعلقة بالطب الدقيق لمرضى السرطان، مع التركيز على العلاج المناعي للسرطان. في جوهره، يهدف إلى فهم الآليات الجزيئية المرتبطة بتطور الأورام ومقاومة العلاج وسمية العلاج، وإجراء دراسات ما قبل السريرية وإثبات المبادئ على الأساليب العلاجية الجديدة.

يمكن استخدام هذه النتائج لتحسين أنظمة التقسيم الطبقي، وبالتالي السماح بعلاجات مخصصة، وتنفيذ مناهج علاجية جديدة في كل من فئات البالغين والأطفال. تأتي العينات المستخدمة لأغراض الاكتشاف من سدرة للطب ومن المؤسسات أو الاتحادات التعاونية المحلية والأجنبية.

مسار التطبيق السريري

من المتوقع أن يضع مسار التنفيذ السريري مفهوم الطب الدقيق لدى مرضى سرطان الأطفال الذين يعالجون في مركز سدرة للطب موضع التنفيذ بالإضافة إلى تنفيذ النتائج - في البيئة السريرية - التي تمخض عنها مكون الاكتشاف. سيتم استكمال أنشطة القسم بدعم متعامد مثل قسم علم الوراثة البشرية وعلم المناعة وصحة الأم والطفل.

Cancer

davide

Davide Bedognetti, is the Director of Cancer department at the Sidra Medicine. He received his MD and PhD in Clinical and Experimental Oncology and Hematology from the University of Genoa, Italy. After obtaining the Board Certification in Medical Oncology by the University of Genova and Italian National Cancer Institute (IST), he joined the Infectious Disease and Immunogenetics Section (IDIS) of the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) where he completed his post-doctoral fellowship. He has also served as Director of the Federation of Clinical Immunology Societies (FOCIS) Center of Excellence at NIH Clinical Center. Dr. Bedognetti is member of the Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer (SITC) Cancer Immune Responsiveness Taskforce, and the FOCIS Centers of Excellence Steering Committee.

Cancer is the leading cause of death by disease in children and adolescents and the second leading cause of death in adults globally. The implementation of personalized therapeutic strategies is hindered by the incomplete knowledge of the molecular mechanisms driving heterogenous types of cancer in different individuals. Cancer immunotherapy is revolutionizing the way patients are treated but only a minority of patients respond to such as a treatment.

The Cancer Research department aims to characterize each patient and his/her tumor at the deepest level of complexity to define hierarchically relevant alterations that can be targeted by specific approaches.
Conceptually, the department can be divided in two parallel, yet complimentary, tracks:  Discovery and Clinical implementation:

The Discovery track:

The department aims to address the key questions related to precision medicine in cancer patients, with an emphasis on cancer immunotherapy. In essence, it aims to understand the molecular mechanisms associated with neoplastic development, treatment resistance, and treatment toxicity, and to perform pre-clinical, proof-of-principle studies on novel therapeutic approaches.

These findings might be used to refine stratification systems, therefore allowing personalized treatments, and to implement novel therapeutic approaches in both adult and pediatric settings. Samples used for discovery purposes come from Sidra Medicine and from collaborative local and foreign institutions or consortia.

The Clinical Implementation track:

The Clinical Implementation track is expected to put into practice the concept of precision medicine in pediatric cancer patients treated at Sidra Medicine in addition to  also implementing - in the clinical setting - the findings generated by the Discovery component. Activities of the department will be complemented with orthogonal  support such as the Human Genetics, Immunology and Maternal and Child Health departments.